How do I get rid of child support in NC?

07/22/2020 Off By admin

How do I get rid of child support in NC?

In North Carolina, there are two ways to begin a child support case: in civil court or through a criminal action. You can file for child support on your own, with a lawyer that you retain, or the Division of Social Services (DSS) can file the child support case for you.

How long can you go without paying child support in North Carolina?

In North Carolina, an order for child support is a judgment that is good for a term of 10 years from the date the payment is due. If an arrearage exists at the time your child turns 18, the parent who is owed the support may file to renew the judgment for a period of 10 more years.

At what age does child support stop in NC?

Under North Carolina law, child support typically continues until a child turns 18. However, there are two common reasons for child support to last longer: Many adolescents turn 18 years old before they graduate from high school.

What are the child support laws in North Carolina?

NC child support laws for college students. Under North Carolina law there is no legal duty to pay any college expenses or to continue child support past age 18 if the child is enrolled in college. Please note that some states do require child support until age 21 if the child is enrolled in college.

Can I sue the Child Support Enforcement office?

No, you cannot sue for child support enforcement in small claims court. Small claims court never has jurisdiction over family law. Any motions to modify or enforce child support payments must be filed with the court that originally entered the underlying support obligation, and some judges maintain a set of standing orders for resolving certain types of family law disputes.

What is legal custody in North Carolina?

Legal Custody involves decision making authority whereas physical custody refers to where the child lives. By default in North Carolina there is shared joint legal custody between legal parents. Who the child lives with most of the time may essentially be exercising physical custody,…

How do you pay child support in NC?

Child Support Payment Methods. North Carolina child support can be paid from one parent to the other via multiple avenues. The most common methods of child support payments are: (1) direct payment to the other parent; (2) wage withholdings; and (3) through North Carolina Child Support Centralized Collections.