What are the four Secure Sockets Layer SSL protocols?

11/27/2020 Off By admin

What are the four Secure Sockets Layer SSL protocols?

Secure Socket Layer Protocols:

  • SSL record protocol.
  • Handshake protocol.
  • Change-cipher spec protocol.
  • Alert protocol.

How do I install Secure Sockets Layer SSL certificate?

How to Install an SSL/TLS Certificate In Web Host Manager (WHM)

  1. Your server certificate. This is the certificate you received from the CA for your domain.
  2. Your intermediate certificates.
  3. Your private key.
  4. Log in to WHM.
  5. Enter Username/Password.
  6. Go to your Homepage.
  7. Click SSL/TLS.
  8. Click Install an SSL Certificate on a Domain.

What is secure Socket Layer SSL and how is it achieved?

Definition of ‘Secure Sockets Layer (ssl)’ SSL is an industry standard which transmits private data securely over the Internet by encrypting it. It is used by many websites to protect the online transactions of their customers. Most web browsers support SSL. SSL connection URL starts with ‘https:’ instead of ‘http:’.

What layer is SSL on?

SSL operates at the presentation layer in the OSI model (Layer6).

Is https TLS or SSL?

In HTTPS, the communication protocol is encrypted using Transport Layer Security (TLS) or, formerly, Secure Sockets Layer (SSL). The protocol is therefore also referred to as HTTP over TLS, or HTTP over SSL.

Is TLS a layer 4?

-SSL/TLS could arguably belong to Layer 4 (transport layer) because it sets up a session and sends data bidirectional by using an underlying transport protocol.

How do I know if I have SSL or TLS?


  1. Launch Internet Explorer.
  2. Enter the URL you wish to check in the browser.
  3. Right-click the page or select the Page drop-down menu, and select Properties.
  4. In the new window, look for the Connection section. This will describe the version of TLS or SSL used.