What happens after you get a DUI in Massachusetts?

07/05/2020 Off By admin

What happens after you get a DUI in Massachusetts?

A conviction carries a fine of $1,000 to $5,000, 90 days to two and a half years in jail, and a one-year license suspension. Treatment. If the offender had drugs or inhalants in his or her system, the judge can order drug education classes or treatment.

What happens at an arraignment in Massachusetts?

The arraignment is for reading the charges and determining what the defendant would like to do with their case. The case can’t be disposed of on this date unless the criminal defendant agrees to do so. If another court date is set, it will most likely be for a pre-trial conference.

What should I wear to an arraignment for a DUI?

Wear clean, pressed business attire free of stains with appropriate footwear. For example, a man might want to wear a suit. At the very least, slacks with a button down dress shirt and tie. A woman might wear a skirt or slacks with a nice blouse.

How long do you lose license for DUI in MA?

45 to 90 days
Penalties for Drunk Driving in Massachusetts. First-time offenders face imprisonment for up to two and one-half years, a fine of $500 to $5,000, or both. The driver’s license suspension period is 45 to 90 days.

What happens when you get a DUI for the first time in Massachusetts?

The potential penalties for a First Offense DUI in Massachusetts are: A fine ranging from $500 to $5,000 and/or a period of incarceration up to 2 ½ years in the House of Correction. Upon a conviction for a First Offense DUI, the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles will suspend your license up to one-year.

What is the next step after arraignment?

What happens after the arraignment? Some time after the arraignment, the abusive person will have to go to court for a pre-trial conference. At that conference, they may plead guilty to something that settles the case. If they do not plead guilty, the court will set a trial date.

What’s the best color to wear to court?

The best color to wear to court is probably navy blue or dark gray. These colors suggest seriousness. At the same time, they do not come with the negative connotations that are often associated with the color black (for instance, some people associate black with evil, coldness, and darkness).

What do you say and not say in court?

Never saying something such as, “That’s all that was said,” or “Nothing else happened.” Instead, try something along the lines of, “That’s all I recall” or “That’s all I remember happening.” This way, if you remember more details after you think about it you can amend your statement. Next: Just answer the question.

What is the difference between OUI and DUI in Mass?

While OUI is a general term, DUI refers to a felony offense. In Massachusetts, driving when drunk or under influence of alcohol is defined as an OUI. The first and second OUI offenses are misdemeanors, while the third and subsequent offenses are defined as Felony DUI.

How long do you lose your license for a DUI in MA?

Can you plea bargain at an arraignment?

Usually, those facing DUI charges in California are advised to plead “not guilty” at their arraignment, but there are plenty of exceptions. If you or your attorney has been able to work out a plea bargain, pleading “guilty” at the DUI arraignment will be required to take advantage.

What should I do at my DUI arraignment?

Another option at your arraignment for a DUI is to plead not guilty and come back to court at a later date. This gives you more time to conduct an investigation to do such things as check the breath machine accuracy and maintenance records, see if the police car has a video of you driving, being pulled over, etc.

What happens at an arraignment for a misdemeanor?

In summary, your arraignment is your first appearance in Court before a criminal court judge. If you have an attorney, he or she can appear on your behalf at your arraignment hearing and handle things for you so you don’t have to appear if you are charged with a misdemeanor.

Is the arraignment the first date of court?

In some cases, the arraignment is the first and only court date. For instance, in a case where a defendant wants to plead guilty and get sentenced right away, one trip to court is generally all it takes. But in most cases, the arraignment just marks the beginning of court proceedings. Each jurisdiction has its own procedures.

What to do if you dont have an attorney at your arraignment?

If you do not have an attorney at the time of your arraignment, you will have to make a personal appearance at your arraignment and the Court will give you several options:- You may ask for a continuance to give you time to find your own attorney.